The University of Maribor (Slovene: Univerza v Mariboru) established in 1975. It currently has 17 faculties. With over 22,000 enrolled undergraduate and graduate students, it is the second biggest university in Slovenia.

The university is divided into 17 faculties:
Faculty of Economics and Business
Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Faculty of Energy Technology
Faculty of Civil Engineering, Transportation Engineering and Architecture
Faculty of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
Faculty of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Faculty of Logistics
Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Faculty of Organizational Sciences
Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
Faculty of Criminal Justice and Security
Faculty of Health Sciences
Faculty of Arts
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Tourism.

Not all of the faculties are located in Maribor. The Faculty of Agriculture and Life Sciences is located in Hoče, the Faculty of Organizational Sciences is located in Kranj, the Faculty of Criminal Justice and Security in Ljubljana, the Faculty of Logistics in Celje and Krško, the Faculty of Energy Technology in Krško and Velenje and the Faculty of Tourism in Brežice. The rest of the faculties are located in different parts of Maribor.

Executive power is vested in the Rector, assisted by six vice-rectors, and the secretary general. The highest academic and professional body is the University Senate.

Student Council of the University of Maribor has an important role as well. It is led by Vice-rector for student affairs, who is a student.

The university also includes several associated facilities, including the University of Maribor Library, student housing, the Computing Center, the Leon Štukelj Sporting Center, and Postgraduate and Visiting Faculty Home.

University of Maribor
Univerza v Mariboru
Slomškov trg 15, 2000 Maribor, Slovenia
Telephone: +386 (0)2 2355280
Telefax: + 386 (0)2 2355211


The student council of the University of Maribor comprises the vice rector for students and a
representative from each faculty of UM. Students work for students, which means that members:
• solve problems associated with students,
• advocate for the welfare of students,
• contribute to a student-friendly and higher quality studies.

Members meet at regular, extraordinary or correspondence sessions convened by the vice-rector for Student Affairs; the vice-rector is currently Maja Žibert. Students can participate in the university bodies, give opinions, suggestions and comments, so that their voice is always present.


VICE-RECTOR for Student Affairs
Student Maja Žibert